Compassionate Child Support Attorneys
When a marriage or relationship comes to an end, as many of them frequently do, the parties go their separate ways except when there are children. The law makes each parent responsible for the care and support of their children who have not reached 18 years of age. Virginia residents should think twice before relying on a formula they find online to calculate their child support obligation.
The child support lawyers at the Newport News-Yorktown office of the Denbigh Law Center help parents understand their child support rights and obligations. Deciding how much parents pay or receive to support their children is more complicated than merely plugging numbers into a formula. The Denbigh Law Center child support attorneys ensure that child custody arrangements and other factors affecting child support are taken into account.
Virginia Child Support Guidelines
Courts in Hampton, Newport News, York County and other municipalities on the Virginia Peninsula rely upon a schedule found in the Virginia code to compute basic child support payments. The schedule uses gross monthly income of both parents as the starting point to calculate child support using a formula based upon the number of children. The schedule shows the support obligation as calculated using the formula.
In order to determine basic child support using the schedule, a person must first locate the row corresponding to the combined gross monthly income of the parents and move to the left to find where the income intersects with a column showing the number of children. The figure in the box where the row and column intersect is the monthly child support the parents should pay.
High-income couples with gross monthly incomes in excess of $35,000 may use the schedule contained in the statute with a slight variation. They must locate on the schedule the child support obligation for parents with a combined gross income of $35,000 and add to it a percentage of the gross income in excess of $35,000. The percentages range from 2.6% for one child up to 5.0% for six children.
According to the support schedule for a couple with two children and a combined gross income of $6,000 a month, child support should be $1,226 a month. The same couple with only one child would have a basic support obligation of $821 a month based upon the schedule. How the support obligation is apportioned between the parents depends on factors that include the amount of income of each parent and the child custody arrangements that have been worked out.
Virginia child support guidelines also must include accounting for the provisioning of daycare and healthcare costs.
Determining Child Support Income Sources
The income parents earn from their employment represents only one of several sources of income that must be taken into consideration when calculating child support. Other sources of income may include the following:
• Employment bonuses
• Earned commissions
• Severance payments
• Unemployment insurance payments
• Pension benefits
• Disability insurance benefits
• Military retirement and disability payments
• Social Security benefits
• Spousal support
• Workers’ compensation benefits